About the Lewis Cass Bands

The band program at Lewis Cass High School is one of pride and tradition. Students entering the program demonstrate a sense of urgency because of the excellence that has passed through the band room doors through the years. We are proud to be a part of this very special and historic group of student musicians, staff members, and directors!


Over fifty years ago, several small schools came together to form Southeastern Schools Corporation (now Lewis Cass Schools). This consolidation came not without challenges; each community struggled to keep their own identity. They were all strong communities with a great deal of pride in their music programs. Music teachers such as Dan Mordenti, Clayton Moon, and Jerry Daniels created in each community a strong pride for their young people and their band activities.  This consolidation brought together the talent, pride, and the desire to excel from each these small schools into what we now call Lewis Cass Junior-Senior High School.

Just two years after the Lewis Cass building was first occupied, Terry Collins was hired as the high school band director. It was his vision to create in Lewis Cass a unique instrumental program uncommon to any other school of this size in the state. Mr. Collins held the job of director until his retirement in 1993. Junior High director, Don Krug took over as high school director that fall. After nine years at the high school level, Krug decided to move back to the junior high and Mike Clark was hired for the position of high school director in 2002. After Mr. Clark’s tragic passing in 2012, Mr. Krug became the HS director until his retirement in 2016.  Andrew Muth was the HS Band Director for three years from 2016-2019.  Alan Hinshaw took over the HS position in 2019.  

The Lewis Cass High School Marching Kings has been a State Finalist in the ISSMA (Indiana State School Music Association) marching competition for 41 consecutive years. Lewis Cass is the only band in the state of Indiana who holds that record. The Marching Kings were the Indiana State Champion in their class in 1988, 1995, 2003, 2006, 2007,  2009, 2011, 2017, 2019, and 2021. They were the runner-up in 1982, 1989, 1992, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2022 and 2023.

Along with marching competitions, the Marching Kings also support their football team by performing during half-time at all home football games and participating in the annual Veteran’s Day Parade in Logansport to support the local troops who have given so much to the community.  Additionally, they march in the annual 4th of July parade in Walton. They have been selected to march in Indiana’s Indy 500 parade multiple times, and in 2015, were selected to perform in the 89th annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade in New York City.  

However, the Kings are not just about marching band. The Concert Band is an outstanding performing group. They have participated in and earned many gold ratings at the Concert Festival of Bands over the past 40+ years.  In 1992, under the direction of Terry Collins, the Lewis Cass concert band was an ISSMA state finalist in concert competition.

The Lewis Cass students are known to be strong performers at ISSMA Solo & Ensemble contest. The students are able to participate in many ensembles or choose to work on solo literature. The students that entered Group I, and have been able to advance to State, earn many Gold medals. The training the students received during their preparation for solo and ensemble contest is invaluable.

The Kings Basketball Pep Band is another very strong and entertaining group. These students work very hard to keep the Kings crowd fired up during all home basketball games.  One administrator once said that when the band traveled with the basketball team to their state finals, the band made the Conseco field house seem like home to our basketball team. Maybe that was the reason they won that year!

The band directors have included Jerry Daniels (1 year), Joe Spence(1 year), Terry Collins (22 years), Don Krug (47 years), Larry Clark (40 years), Sean Mcknabb (5 years), Scott Mach (2 years), Mike Clark (10 years), Abby Guy (5 years), Andrew Muth (3 years), Tyler Long (2 years), Erin Thomas (1 year), Alan Hinshaw (11 years, current), and Dylan Humburg (2 years, current). These directors have helped the students maintain the success and recognition throughout the state of Indiana.

Awards and Honors

ISSMA State Marching Band Finalist

1974, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023

ISSMA Marching Band State Champion

1988, 1995, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2017, 2019, 2021

BOA (Bands of America) Indianapolis Super Regional Championships

2017 – 1st place, 2018 – 2nd place, 2019 – 3rd place, 2021 – 6th place, 2022 – 5th place, 2023 – 6th place

ISSMA Concert Organization Gold Rating

1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022

Indiana Percussion Association Winds A State Champion


ISSMA All-Music Award

2016-2017, 2017-2018, 2018-2019, 2021-2022